e-mail home

What is Aquator?

What is it for?

Results of researches

Patent

Farming

Presentations

Publications

Awards

Contacts

RUSSIAN ACADEMY OF SCIENCE
N.M. EMANUEL INSTITUTE FOR BIOCHEMICAL PHYSICS

Official seal: Russian Academy of Science* Russian Academy of Science N.M. Emanuel Institute for Biochemical Physics (IBHF RAN)* OGRN (illegible)* INN 7736043895* OKPO 40241274*
APPROVED BY:
Russian Academy of Science
N.M. Emanuel Institute for Biochemical Physics
Deputy Director

(Signed)     A.N. GOLOSHCHAPOV,
Candidate of Medicine

REPORT titled:

"A Study of Effects Produced by Physico-Chemical Properties of
Water upon the Structural State of Erythrocyte Membranes"

Purpose. This was a study of effects produced by various water samples, such as are having dissimilar properties dependent on the origin of such samples, upon structural features of erythrocyte membranes. It is known that a change in water structure can entail changes in the existing biomembrane conformations and, hence, in activity levels of biological processes taking place in a cell, because cellular membrane is top sensitive to any changes in external and internal environments. It has also been shown that various water activation methods and phase changes can give rise to water molecule homolytical decomposition mechano-chemical reactions combined with appearance of hydrogen radical and hydroxyl radical. Such radicals, having become hydrated, can exist for a large span of time; they make up chemically active ions and radicals, including active oxygen forms, and this produces a wide range of biological effects. Therefore, there are reasons to expect manifestations of biological activity in water put through various stages of treatment.

Many diseases are accompanied with intensification in lipid peroxide oxidation and changes in membrane structures. Today, studies of biological membrane structural state are successfully practiced with use of electronic paramagnetic resonance spectroscopy (EPR spectroscopy) well designed to make readings of any slight changes in biophysical parameters of cellular membranes - both in case of their normal functioning and in case of any chemical or physical exposures.

Sample description. The following three water samples were used as test objects:

  1. Pipe-water sample taken out of Moscow City Western Administrative Circuit water supply system (Sample W);
  2. The same water purified with use of water purification household system manufactured by ZEPTER, Series: EE-RO-6PF (Sample F);
  3. Water Sample F later treated with use of Aquator field generator designed to produce specific effects upon structural state of the water (Sample T).

Test methods. 0.01M tris-HCL buffer, where mouse erythrocytes were put as a 5% suspension, was prepared on the three under-test water samples. The buffer so prepared was tested for erythrocyte membrane viscosity rates. Viscosity of various membrane areas was evaluated in reliance upon rotational correlation time of spinal probes incorporated into the membrane. The following stable iminoxyl radicals were used as such probes: 2,2,6,6-tetramethyl-4-capryloil-oxypiperidine-1-oxyl (Probe 1) and 5,6-benzo-2,2,6,6-tetramethyl-1,2,3,4-tetrahydro--3-oxyl (Probe 2). The two radicals are mutually dissimilar in their hydrophobic properties. It is known that, predominantly, Probe 1 is located in the lipid bi-layer, and Probe 2 - in enzyme-proximate lipids of the membrane. Iminoxyl radicals were infused into the 5% erythrocyte suspension as an alcoholic solution 30 minutes before the samples were measured at ER-200D SRC EPR spectrometer manufactured by BRUKER of the FRG. Basing on EPR spectrums obtained, rotational correlation time (), which means, essentially, the period of re-orientation of the radical at /2 angle, was calculated.

Results obtained and discussion. Results obtained in the tests are shown in Table 1.

Table 1. Erythrocyte membrane micro-viscosity, as dependent on exposure to various water samples (, 10-10 sec)

Water In Absolute Units In %, as related to Sample W
Probe 1 Probe 2 Probe 1 Probe 2
W Sample 0.40 0.77 100 100
F Sample 0.46 0.82 115 106
T Sample 0.41 0.77 103 100

It is obvious from the Table that the largest increase in lipid bi-layer micro-viscosity and in enzyme-proximate lipids of the erythrocytes takes place when Sample F is in use, that is, the membrane grows "harder". The growing viscosity of the membrane indicates an intensification of free-radical oxidative reactions taking place in it. The resultant active oxygen forms are highly aggressive and entail cellular impairments giving rise to within-cell metabolic disturbances and to development of various pathologies.

Water T produces, virtually, no changes in erythrocyte membrane viscosity as compared to the initial Sample W, which means that its physiological parameters are close in their rates to the control rates.

Therefore, the obtained data prove the supposed differences in the levels of biological activity of the under-test water samples. It follows from the test conditions that differences in the extent of effects produced upon biomembrane viscosity rates are associated with physico-chemical properties of the under-test samples, which properties have been given rise to by technological treatment of the water.

Therefore, the following conclusion can be made: Water T - filtered and treated with use of Aquator appliance - is the best in quality, as compared to Water F, because it does not act to disturb the structure of erythrocyte membranes.

The testing was performed by Candidate of Biology, Senior Research Officer of Laboratory for Physico-Chemical Fundamentals of Biological System Regulation at: Russian Academy of Science, N.M. Emanuel Institute for Biochemical Physics

(Signed)      /L.D. FATKULLINA/
What is Aquator? | What is it for? | Results of researches | Patent
Farming | Presentations | Publications | Awards | Contacts
e-mail home

e-mail home

Что такое Акватор?

Для чего она нужна?

Результаты исследований

Патент

Сельское хозяйство

Презентации

Публикации

Награды

Контакты

ОТЧЕТ

" Исследование влияния физико-химических свойств воды на

структурное состояние мембраны эритроцитов"

Цель исследования. В работе изучалось влияние различных образцов воды, обладающих в силу своего происхождения разными физико-химическими свойствами, на структурные характеристики мембраны эритроцитов. Известно, что изменение структуры воды может менять конформацию биомембран, следовательно, и активность биологических процессов в клетке, поскольку именно клеточная мембрана наиболее чувствительна к изменению внутренней и внешней среды. Показано также, что при различных способах активации воды и фазовых переходах происходят механо-химические реакции гомолитического распада молекул воды с появлением водородного и гидроксильного радикалов. Эти радикалы, гидратируясь, могут существовать значительное время и образуют химически активные ионы и радикалы, включая активные формы кислорода, что приводит к различным биологическим эффектам. Поэтому можно ожидать проявлений биологической активности у воды, прошедшей различные стадии обработки.

Многие заболевания сопровождаются интенсификацией перекисного окисления липидов и изменениями структурной организации мембраны. В настоящее время для изучения структурного состояния биологических мембран успешно применяется спектроскопия электронного парамагнитного резонанса (ЭПР-спектроскопия), которая позволяет фиксировать слабые изменения биофизических параметров клеточных мембран, как при их нормальном функционировании, так и в случае химических и физических воздействий.

Описание образцов. В качестве объектов исследования использовались три образца воды:

  1. Водопроводная вода, забранная из системы городского водопровода Западного административного округа г. Москвы (образец В);
  2. Та же вода, но очищенная с использованием бытовой установки очистки воды фирмы Zepter, серия EE-RO-6PF (образец Ф);
  3. Вода Ф, дополнительно обработанная устройством "Акватор", влияющим на структурное состояние воды (образец Т).

Методика исследования. На трех исследуемых образцах воды готовили 0,01М трис-HCL буфер (рН-7,4), куда в виде 5%-ной суспензии помещали эритроциты мышей. В подготовленном таким образом буфере проводили изучение микровязкости эритроцитарной мембраны. Вязкость различных областей мембраны оценивали по времени вращательной корреляции включенных в мембрану спиновых зондов. В качестве зондов использовали стабильные иминоксильные радикалы: 2,2,6,6-тетраметил-4-каприлоил-оксипиперидин-1-оксил (зонд 1) и 5,6-бензо-2,2,6,6-тетраметил-1,2,3,4-тетрагидро--3-оксил (зонд 2), которые различаются по своим гидрофобным свойствам. Известно, что зонд 1 преимущественно локализуется в липидном бислое, а зонд 2 -в прибелковых липидах мембраны. Иминоксильные радикалы вводили в 5%-ную взвесь эритроцитов в виде спиртового раствора за 30 мин до измерения образцов на ЭПР-спектрометре ER-200D SRC фирмы Bruker (ФРГ). Из полученных спектров ЭПР рассчитывали время вращательной корреляции, имеющее смысл периода переориентации радикала на угол /2.

Результаты и обсуждение. Полученные в процессе исследования результаты приведены в таблице 1.

Таблица 1. Микровязкость мембраны эритроцитов под влиянием различных
образцов воды (c 10-10 сек)

Вода В абсолютных единицах В процентах в образцу В
Зонд 1 Зонд 2 Зонд 1 Зонд 2
В-образец 0.40 0.77 100 100
Ф-образец 0.46 0.82 115 106
Т-образец 0.41 0.77 103 100

Из таблицы видно, что наибольшее увеличение микровязкости липидного бислоя и прибелковых липидов эритроцитов происходит при использовании образца Ф, т.е. мембрана становится более "жесткой". Повышение вязкости мембраны указывает на усиление в ней свободнорадикальных окислительных реакций. Образующиеся при этом активные формы кислорода весьма агрессивны и вызывают клеточные повреждения, что приводит к нарушению обменных процессов в клетке и к развитию различных патологических состояний. Вода Т практически не изменяет вязкость мембраны эритроцитов по сравнению с исходным образцом В, что говорит о ее физиологической близости к контролю.

Следовательно, полученные данные подтверждают предположения о разной биологической активности изученных образцов воды. Из условий эксперимента понятно, что различия в степени влияния на микровязкость биомембран связаны с физико-химическими свойствами рассматриваемых образцов, которые возникли в результате технологической обработки воды.

Таким образом, можно сделать вывод, что вода Т - отфильтрованная и обработанная устройством "Акватор" - является лучшей по сравнению с водой Ф, поскольку не нарушает структуру мембраны эритроцитов.

Работу выполнила кандидат биологических наук, старший научный сотрудник лаборатории физико-химических основ регуляции биологических систем ИБХФ РАН

Что такое Акватор? | Для чего она нужна? | Результаты исследований | Патент
Сельское хозяйство | Презентации | Публикации | Награды | Контакты
e-mail home